Current Reads

I’m top heavy in the non-fiction category at this point. Seriously, I’m needing to read some good fiction. Brain overload. But, it’s all good.  I think I might pull out Mother Carey’s Chickens, or Understood Betsy.  Nothing too dramatic, but inspiring at this point.  No Austen.  No Dickens.  Not even a good Father Brown mystery right now.  I’m just trying to get through another February.  Most of what I’m reading is for preparation.  Yet, much of the stack falls under “reading again,” or familiar territory.  So, either an adventure, something ridiculous, or an AO book for years 4-6 would likely fit the bill.  Much too heavy laden, this current list.  I’m an idealist, mainly reading idealists, but living in a real world that just doesn’t seem to want to dig any deeper.  If I don’t lighten the load, I’ll end up angry, or disillusioned.  Would Twain offer comic relief, or just be annoying?  Pollyanna?  Um, nope.  Anne Shirley might be inspiring.  Wait!  Parnassus on Wheels is probably what I should read right now.  Yes, that’s it!  Whew!  Decision made.  I’ll put that one at the top of this list for a breath of fresh air.  I’m not adding anything on a higher reading level at this point.  Coming up to breathe is a good thing.  I think I just need a bit of time sitting beside the pool, feet dangling while I watch children play in the shallow end.  Their play is actually much deeper than the deep end, it just the fact that goes unrecognized.  I hope to finish most of these SOON!

Bonhoeffer as Youth Worker:  A Theological Vision for Discipleship and Life Together, by Andrew Root

Portraits of Jesus:  A Nine-Session Bible Study on the “I Am” Statements of Christ, by Rev. Roy Beutel and Rev. Steven King, edited by Shannon Vietmeier  (This one is for monthly Bible Study group.)

What’s in Your Bag?  Outcome-Based Youth Ministry Developing Faith Skills in Young People, by Gary M. Pecuch

For the Family’s Sake:  The Value of Home in Everyone’s Life, by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay

The Book of Concord:  The Confessions of the Evangelical Lutheran Church, edited by Robert Kolb and Timothy J. Wengert

The Giant Killer, by A.L.O.E.  (Wow!  The lone fiction title!)

Dyslexia & College Success, by Maria S. E. Johnson & James Nuttall

 

Leave a Reply

