And, the Winner is…

A new recipe altogether!  None of the recipes I found yesterday won out, although I intend to try most of them over the next year to decide if I’ll make any of them next year.

Today’s cake will be a combination of two recipes.  The first, found in Our Food:  The Kosher Kitchen Updated, by Anita Hirsch, is called “Apple Streusel Coffee Cake.”  I’m adding the apple from this recipe to Gloria’s “Sour Cream Coffee Cake.”  My dear friend passed earlier this year, so it seems fitting to use her recipe, with the addition of apples, to celebrate the new year.  (https://topsyturvytoile.wordpress.com/2014/07/17/757/)

I’m going to place thinly sliced apples in the bottom of a sprayed baking dish.  Since this won’t be a kosher meal, I’m going to use 2 sticks of butter, 2 cups of sugar, 2 eggs, 1 3/4 cup flour, 1 cup Greek yogurt, 3/4 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. baking powder, and 1/2 tsp. salt for the cake batter.  Just stir it up.  Super simple.

The original recipes called for varying amounts of vanilla, so I’m splitting the difference.  They both called for sour cream, but I like to use Greek yogurt instead.  The Hirsch recipe called for half the sugar and quite a bit less margarine, but I need a bigger cake, so Gloria’s measurements will make a bigger cake.

The topping that will be sprinkled over the batter include 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/4 cup brown sugar.

I like Gloria’s topping better because it omits extra flour, but I’m substituting Hirsch’s suggestion of walnuts over Gloria’s choice of pecans.  I have walnuts, or I’d use pecans.  I’ve cut the cinnamon in half.  I hope that’s a good choice.  I recently cut the cinnamon amount in half for my homemade granola and we all liked it better…..so,….

I plan to cook it at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.  Tonight’s vote will decide if I actually make it this way again, or try each of the individual recipes to determine which is our favorite.

 

Leave a Reply

