Favorite Book Friends

Two of my very favorite books filled with CM style encouragement are

For the Children’s Sake:  Foundations of Education for Home and School

For the Children's Sake

and,

For the Family’s Sake:  The Value of Home in Everyone’s Life

For the Family's Sake: The ...

Both of these inspirational books, by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay, were some of the very first books I read after reading A Charlotte Mason Companion:  Personal Reflections on the Gentle Art of Learning, by Karen Andreola, during the latter part of the last century!

A Charlotte Mason Companion...

The three of them feel like old friends.  Each time I run across quotations, a cover pic, or a reference to either author, I’m carried back to the time when I read every title I could find on Miss Mason’s beautifully freeing methods of education.  I enjoy sharing these old friends with new acquaintances from time, but tend to loan these books out with great caution.  I’ve owned multiple copies of each…..they never seem to return home once they visit another family.  Never mind.  They should stay a while to bring beauty to the lives of others….I will give them another ride home from a bookstore, library sale, or UPS truck again each time they’ve stayed too long on a trip far from home.

Leave a Reply

